Guide: Users & Permissions - MinuteShark

Managing Your Team

The Users & Permissions page allows you to manage every person in your workspace, organizing them into teams, and defining exactly what they can see and do through custom roles.

 

1. Navigating and Inviting Users

You can access all team management features by navigating to the Users & Teams page from the main side navigation menu.

Sending Invitations

  1. Go to the Users tab.

  2. Enter the email address of the person you wish to add.

  3. Hit the Invite button. This will send them an invitation to your MinuteShark workspace. Remind them to check their Spam folder in case the email landed there.

Important Billing Note: Keep in mind that per-user pricing may be applicable to your workspace according to your current plan. Adding new users may affect your plan fees.

 

2. Managing Users

The Users tab is where you manage individual access details and assignments.

User Setup and Profile

  • Username: Users will set their own username when they first log in and access their Profile page.

  • Team Assignment: You can set the user’s team on this page.

  • Team Leader Status: You can check off a checkbox to designate a user as a Team Leader.

  • User Role: Select from Admin, Regular User, or Custom Roles (see more below) that you created.

 

Understanding Team Leader Permissions

Team Leaders are allowed to see reports not only from themselves but also from members of their assigned team. Admins and users with the appropriate permission in their role can see reports from all users.

 

Setting User Roles

On the Users tab, you can set the role of the user, which dictates their permissions:

  • Admin: Has full permissions across the workspace, including the ability to change billing info (e.g., updating credit card info). However, to delete a Workspace, you must be the one who created it.

  • Regular User: Can track time, create clients, projects, and tasks.

    • Note on Visibility: If a project has its Visibility not set to “Everyone,” but rather a specific team is selected, Regular Users will not see that project unless they belong to that specified team.

  • Custom Role: This allows you to set a custom permission set for what users with this role can do (defined in the Roles tab).

 

Status Management

You can disable/enable a user here. Disabled users do not count toward your plan fees.

 

4. Teams and Custom Roles

The remaining two tabs provide organizational structure and fine-grained access control:

  • Teams Tab: Use this to create and edit the teams that users are assigned to.

  • Roles Tab: Use this to create and edit custom roles, allowing you to build specific permission sets for assigning to users.